MEDIA RELEASE





ETFO announces its 2023-2024 award winners

For Immediate Release – August 13, 2024

TORONTO, ON – Every day, Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario (ETFO) members and other individuals make outstanding contributions to curriculum development, the arts, science and technology, children's literature, 2SLGBTQ+ realities, humanitarian causes, and other areas. To recognize this, ETFO runs an annual Awards Program.

"The ETFO Awards Program honours members and other individuals for their outstanding academic successes, service, and significant contributions to public education and the Federation. There is so much to celebrate," says ETFO President Karen Brown. "The award recipients play a crucial role in advancing the cause of public education in Ontario and beyond. Their dedication is commendable."

The following ETFO Awards were presented this year:

Anti-Bias Award

Teresa Weselake, Renfrew County Teacher Local

Anti-Racist & Equity Activism Award - Women's Program

Ailíse Byrne, Halton Teacher Local Member from Upper Canada Occasional Teacher Local

Anti-Racist & Equity Activism Award

Nadia Hohn, Elementary Teachers of Toronto Local Member from Peel Teacher Local

Arts & Culture Award

Kara Neufeglise, Upper Grand Teacher Local

Children's Literature Award

Serena Virk, Peel Teacher Local

Environmental Education Award

Member from Lambton Kent Teacher Local

Health and Safety Activist Award

Jennifer Manners, Hamilton-Wentworth DECE Local

International Humanitarian Award for an ETFO Member

Sezgin Nalsok, Halton Teacher Local

International Humanitarian Award for a Non-ETFO Member

Vickram Bachan

-more-













Local Humanitarian Award for an ETFO Member

Jennifer Hanna-Gardiner, Lakehead Teacher Local

Member Service and Engagement Award

Lakehead Teacher Local

New Member Award

Christina Brassett, Greater Essex County Occasional Teacher Local

Outstanding Role Model for Women Award – Women's Program

Bea Yeung, Upper Grand Teacher Local

Professional Learning & Curriculum Development Award

Tammara Smith, Renfrew County Teacher Local

Rainbow Visions Award

Keith Tait, Niagara Teacher Local

Women Who Develop Special Projects in Science and Technology Award – Women's Program

Anu Bahri, Elementary Teachers of Toronto Local

Writer's Award – Women's Program

Natasha Nguyen, Peel Teacher Local

Writer's Award

Michelle McKay and Klara Redford, Peel Teacher Local

To learn more about each award recipient, visit etfo.ca.

ETFO represents approximately 83,000 members, including public elementary teachers, occasional teachers, designated early childhood educators, education support personnel, and professional support personnel. Visit BuildingBetterSchools.ca.

-30-

ETFO Media Relations: Carla Pereira | 416-962-3836 ext. 2332 | cpereira@etfo.org







